A little concerned.

Zonechef
on 12/17/14 10:15 am
RNY on 12/03/14

Hi all. I am 2 weeks post op today and a little concerned on lack of loss. I lost a lot of weight in the 3 months pre-op using South Beach as recommended by my nutritionist. I am 56 yo man I went from 294 to 250 (down 44 lbs) between Sept 3 and my RNY on Dec 3rd. Since my surgery 2 weeks ago I have only lost another 7 lbs down to 243 (or 51 lbs. down total). I am eating protein first, and almost exclusively getting plenty of walking in and sipping all day so that I am getting my fluids and protein regularly. Not sure why I am not losing like many others. I see so many losing so much during the initial months. Could this initial stall be due to the pre-surgery weight loss. Any one else's experiences similar to mine?? Thanks!

poet_kelly
on 12/17/14 11:50 am - OH

Half a pound a day seems pretty good to me.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

56sunShine14
on 12/17/14 9:59 pm, edited 12/17/14 9:59 pm

Every time I have lost weight in the past, I hit a stall at exactly 44-45lbs. But you are doing well, don't worry.

All posts that I make on this site, any forum, are a result in my having experience and caring for anyone having to go through life as an obese person. If you have medical issues, please see your doctor for medical advice.

Karen

CerealKiller Kat71
on 12/17/14 10:07 pm
RNY on 12/31/13

What you are describing is completely normal.  Please don't compare yourself to other people.  It does nothing beneficial as you really don't know if they started way heavier, are including pre-op loss, etc -- and frankly, speed doesn't determine success.