Venting...Medical Leave...

4Reel
on 12/10/14 7:18 am

I had a follow up appointment with my doctor yesterday.  I asked several questions to the nurse about the process and how/when I will get a surgery date, etc.  My last appointment for my 6-month insurance requirement will be on Jan. 8th (yay!) and they will submit it the next day to insurance.  The nurse stated that since Jan. is a slow month, sometimes they hear back the next day!  She went on to say that BCBS has been getting back to them within 3-5 days in normal cases.  Although, if they want more documentation, this might cause a delay.  They nurse stated that I might want to go ahead and tell my employer (I am a teacher), so that I can get things in place to be out during that time.

I told my employer that I will be out on medical leave in February, but maybe as early as mid January.  Because it is going to be more than 2 weeks, I will need to get the paperwork together to prepare for a certified sub.  Schools like to have these certified subs in place because they are harder to get.... due to all the new mommies... ( Do not drink the water at an elementary school!  We normally have around 8 maternity leaves in a school year!!)  :)  They asked if I could get a more defined date so they can put a certified sub on the schedule.  A plus to doing this is that it will often be a teacher that knows our school and how it operates, may stop by prior to the leave and get to know students, etc.

With that information, I called back my surgeon's office.  They stated that they will not make a surgery date (not even a dummy date****il I have approval with my insurance.  I explained why and the lady stated, "Don't worry, they will find someone...they always do."  She also stated that I might not even have my surgery until March..."then what will your school do?"