Excess skin

(deactivated member)
on 12/8/14 11:05 am
VSG on 06/01/15

Hello. Newbie here. I'm hoping to have vertical sleeve gastrectomy but I haven't gone through the process yet. I go to the seminar this Thursday. My biggest concern/fear is the huge amount of excess skin I'm going to have. I know Medicare will pay for a panniculectomy if it's medically necessary but nothing else. I live on disability and have no savings to pay for plastic surgery. My credit history isn't the greatest so financing is probably out. I weigh 383 lbs. and I already have saggy skin. Especially my arms. It's genetic. I'm scared of having to try to move around with so much skin and how hideous I'm going to look. I'm determined to have this surgery, though. I don't want to die because of my weight. 

How do you deal with the excess skin if you can't have plastic surgery? I really need some encouragement.

Thanks

jerry M.
on 12/8/14 1:17 pm

There is not much you can do but grin and bare it. Fast weight loss does not allow your skin to shrink as it does with slow weight loss. This is one of the drawbacks of weight loss surgery. With lots of loose skin you can develop skin infections and other problem, such as odor if you don't keep all the areas clean. I would think with these kinds of problems Medicare may cover your surgery, but best to find out for sure. You would also need your doctor to say that it is necessary for your health. But right now your main focus should be that WLS will most likely save your life. The other you can face when that time comes.

Grim_Traveller
on 12/8/14 10:38 pm
RNY on 08/21/12

It has nothing to do with speed of weight loss. The excess skin is already there. If it takes one year or ten to lose the weight, the skin will still be there. Rate of loss will not change it.

Once in a while people will try to lose slower, hoping to minimize extra skin. They end up losing very little, and are much worse off.