Newbie and Family Support Question

JosiePNP
on 11/23/14 1:33 am

Thats a great suggestion- however, they live in Florida (lucky them- it is probably 70something degree and Sunny there) and Im in Pennsylvania.. :(

So it makes it hard to articulate things to them because I get frustrated that they dont think its a good idea.

Josie Schreder-Guhl

poet_kelly
on 11/23/14 1:34 am - OH

Well, it's not necessary for them to think it's a good idea.  If they will be supportive anyway, maybe that's enough.  But your dad knows how to research medical things if he wants to do so.  So he can learn more if he is interested in doing that.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

MsBatt
on 11/24/14 12:13 am

Can you get either or, even better, both of them involved in some on-line WLS FB groups or message boards like this? (Sounds like your mom would be a great candidate for a DS. Perhaps you as well, since you know you have metabolic problems.)

JosiePNP
on 11/22/14 11:21 pm

You all are so helpful! Thank you!!!

Josie Schreder-Guhl

Valerie G.
on 11/23/14 2:09 am - Northwest Mountains, GA

I'm 9 years out from the duodenal switch.  Of the 145 lbs lost, I regained only 20lbs and quite content with that.  I can tell you of my own experience that I've lived the 'lifestyle' since puberty and my weight continued despite my best efforts.  I eat more today than I ever did BEFORE my DS.  My body no longer fights me back.

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes

Sasny
on 11/23/14 11:50 am
VSG on 03/20/12

Hi

Few quick thoughts:

1) I had VSG surgery almost three years ago and think it was one of the best decisions of my life.