B12 patches

Maureen H.
on 11/12/14 2:10 am
VSG on 10/30/14

Has anyone tried Vitamin b12 patches? Are they as effective as taking a daily pill or the b12 injections? Just curious? 

poet_kelly
on 11/12/14 2:40 am - OH

They weren't as effective for me.  For a while they kept my level OK, but then it dropped so I switched to injections.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Poodlemac
on 11/12/14 2:47 am
RNY on 09/26/14

Can one give themselves the injections?  How expensive are the shots comparatively?

poet_kelly
on 11/12/14 2:53 am - OH

Oh yeah, I'd say most people probably do the injections themselves.  It's super easy.  I do mine sub-cutaneously, which just means it goes under the skin as opposed to in the muscle, so I use a really small needle and I barely even feel it.

Cost-wise, it depends on if insurance covers them or not.   My insurance used to cover the B12 but not the syringes.  I had a $2.50 copay for a month's worth of B12 (I do the shots twice a month) and the syringes cost me about 25 cents each.  Now my insurance doesn't cover the B12 anymore either so that costs me about $8.  Plus the syringes so now I pay about $4.25 per shot, twice a month.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

NancyTina
on 11/12/14 3:59 am