Self Pitty, Self Loathing, Depression or Realistic?

Jason W.
on 11/7/14 8:32 am - Ione, CA

Hello, I am new to all this and scared of the future. I have never been the type of person to use support groups or forums for help, but as my surgery date gets closer The more I feel lost and alone. Lately i have been reflecting on my life and realizing what a total failure I am and it has been. How did I so fail myself that I got to 545 pounds and never noticed? How am i so self delusional that I talk myself in to believing that being as lonely as I am in my fate in life? when did I give up and why? As my surgery becomes more of a reality I am more scared not of the pain or dying on the table but is there a point to it?
Do i deserve to be happy or do i even know what that means?

I am 42 years old and I seriously wonder if I am always going to be a fat loser? I have lost 52 pounds in the past 6 months, yet I do not 'feel' any different. I keep thinking why am I going through with this life change/surgery, no one like or loves me now how will it be different at 200 pounds? What is so wrong with me that only drastically altering my body can change me? Why am I such a monster and a freak of nature?

I don't have anyone I can talk to about my life who understands and I am almost positive no one will here but I am going to try anyways. When I speak to family and friends they tell me life is going to get better and I am a great person. if this is true and I am so great why am I lonely and no one wants to be around me? How is losing weight going to change any of this?

I know this all sounds pathetic and whinny and I hate myself for being like this. I am scared that nothing is going to change other than my waist size. I want to believe but life has taught me not to trust and love is for other people. I truly hope no one can relate to any of this and no one feels my loneliness and pain but if you can or have please tell me it does change some how?