Keeping surgery a secret

eiramanad
on 11/3/14 3:05 am

Hi, 

i am new to this page, but have been scoping out posts and reading other peoples entries for a few weeks now.  

my job recently switched to Cigna insurance & according to their guidelines(and after calling,)  i should qualify for gastric bypass to be covered without it costing me anything.  I have been interested in this for quite some time, but i am really nervous.  I have not even started the process or anything yet, but i am really hoping someone out there can help me with some of my questions.

i work for a company where the HR person is basically the workplace DEVIL. she gossips all day and wants nothing nice for anyone.  i am very very very private and what is keeping me from going through with starting this whole process is that she will find out and tell everyone my business - whether it be legal or not. if i do go through with this, i plan on keeping it between myself and my sister and boyfriend. i have asked both of them to not tell anyone.  the girls i work with were all talking about how they know someone who has had the "fat girl surgery" and how it is the"easy way out."  i dont care if it is or isnt - its something i really want, but i want to do this all at my own speed and have privacy.  

i do not want anyone at work knowing anything, but i am curious if the higher up people in the company will end up finding out. does insurance give my employer this info ? do i have to ?  

i have a desk job where i am not required to do ANYTHING physical so i am HOPING to get this done and be back the next week or so and just play it off as me feeling ill and then really starting to "diet."  i sit alone in the back of the building so nobody can see what i am eating or doing, but i do see people when i walk in or go to the front for items.  

also, if anyone knows - i have been paying into aflac short term disability - if i did decide to take like a week or two, does my job find out what for?