Confused , Which is better ??!

(deactivated member)
on 11/2/14 1:18 am

Hey guys, i am little bit confused between then the VSG and the gastric by pass surgery , My surgeon gave me the choice and i am not sure which procedure is better for me , I weight 374 pounds and i am 26 years old , Thanks to god , I don't have any medical history .I am a bulky eater as well, so what do you think ??, Please help me you can , Thanks in advance :)

poet_kelly
on 11/2/14 3:36 am - OH

I'd ask your surgeon which he thinks is better for you.  He knows your  medical history better than we do.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Chilipepper
on 11/2/14 4:04 am

I have never been a fan of a restriction only procedur...  I would have an Rny or Ds

"The first thing I do in the morning is brush my teeth and sharpen my tongue." --- Dorothy Parker  

"You may not like what I say or how I say it, but it may be just exactly what you need to hear." ---Kathryn White

Valerie G.
on 11/2/14 4:17 am - Northwest Mountains, GA

WLS is not one-size-fits-all, so these procedures address obesity differently.  VSG simply restricts how much you can eat, while gastric  bypass (and Duodenal Switch) give not only restriction but also metabolic changes by way of malabsorption to give faster and more sustained loss over time.  I recommend learning everything you can about all three procedures and compare that to what you know about yourself and how your body reacts to your efforts to lose weight.

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 11/2/14 4:18 am - OH