Newbie Q's wrt psychological readiness and potential reasons for disqualification for WLS

Drvn2skcede
on 10/27/14 5:06 am

Hi there, Newbie here and just starting to consider WLS.

The trouble is that my general practitioner feels that it is too early to consider something as drastic as surgery, and she feels that since I have a history of mental health issues (currently being treated for mild depression/anxiety), that WLS may exacerbate these issues.  I don't typically have much trouble with the 'amount' of food I eat, but rather my food choices - which tend to favour fats and sweets ie.,  I have no issue bingeing on sweets for the reward/addiction factor.

I've seen many instances on various websites where people have said that they were turned down for surgeries, but haven't said why.  So my questions are, what reasons could someone be denied surgery for?  Can someone with a history of depression be denied?  Can someone with a mild binge-eating disorder be denied? Can someone with cardiovascular or sleep apnea issues be denied etc.

Thanks!

(Stats on me: 42y/o, BMI:40, not medicated for co-morbidities other than GERD but insulin-resistant, borderline hypertensive, borderline high cholesterol, not sleeping well but not sleep-tested yet - taking antidepressants that help with sleep and having some cardiovascular issues right now that may or may not be related to the antidepressants - I will get results from cardiac stress test in 2 wks).

Megank1147
on 10/27/14 6:50 am