Current Medications and GBP

RitaL
on 10/21/14 12:01 am, edited 10/20/14 1:12 pm

I'm new to this forum and waiting on my insurance to approve surgery since I've completed all requirements. I will be having a revision from lap band to GBP.  I'm really concerned about meds I currently take. A beta blocker, thyroid and Zoloft. I have to take these meds after surgery while in the hospital and wondering what experience others have had. I cannot miss a day taking any of these.  Think I'm more concerned about this than the procedure. 

poet_kelly
on 10/21/14 12:05 am - OH

I took all my usual meds in the hospital after surgery.  The hospital pharmacy should have those in stock for you, but you can call in advance to check or just take yours with you if you are concerned.  But those are all typical meds any hospital pharmacy should have in stock.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

RitaL
on 10/21/14 12:09 pm

Thank you. My Dr told me I could take them but didn't explain how or if it would be a couple of days.  Since I take a beta blocker for my BP I know I cannot just stop taking cold turkey. Been there and done that and never want to go through that again. 

I will take any comments and advice. Should be any day on my approval. 

poet_kelly
on 10/21/14 12:12 pm - OH

Don't stop taking the zoloft cold turkey either.  It can have side effects if you do, plus surgery is stressful enough, it's not a good time to be without your meds.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly