Ridiculed in public

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 10/19/14 6:38 am - OH

Interesting article, Val!

despise cell phones at dinner.  I turn mine off and expect the people that I dine with to do the same (or at least to ignore it if they get a text or a call).  I would also be quite offended if someone I was at dinner with was playing games on their phone rather than talking to me...

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

poet_kelly
on 10/19/14 10:25 am - OH

It drives me nuts when I'm dining with someone and they keep playing with their phone, too.  But if the OP's husband doesn't mind, then why should we care if she plays on her phone when having dinner with him?  It's certainly not the place of wait staff to tell customers if they can or can't play with their phones during a meal.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 10/19/14 11:52 am - OH

Agreed.  I don't care one way or the other since I wasn't there, and clearly it wasn't like the place was swamped and the staff were frustrated because they wanted to turn over the table.

This is one of those cases where I think it would be fascinating to see the situation unfold on video in order to see what happened from an objective point of view.

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

Kate -True Brit
on 10/19/14 7:07 pm - UK
On October 19, 2014 at 5:25 PM Pacific Time, poet_kelly wrote: