Not telling people about surgery MEANS YOU'RE NOT READY!

Freemama
on 10/12/14 4:38 am
RNY on 11/05/14

Withholding private information with those who have shown themselves to be untrustworthy is good judgment. Sweeping statements about people's readiness based on a single factor, and without complete information, is not.

msladykris
on 10/12/14 5:58 am - Indianapolis, IN
DS on 03/25/15
On October 12, 2014 at 11:38 AM Pacific Time, Freemama wrote:

Withholding private information with those who have shown themselves to be untrustworthy is good judgment. Sweeping statements about people's readiness based on a single factor, and without complete information, is not.

I like that!

Karen B.
on 10/12/14 6:02 am - MA

Hi,

I work in a hospital.  Any discussion of your health issues by HR is a HIPPA violation, illegal and even can be grounds for legal action.  That nurse overstepped her boundaries and should know better.

Karen B.
msladykris
on 10/12/14 7:35 am - Indianapolis, IN
DS on 03/25/15
On October 12, 2014 at 1:02 PM Pacific Time, Karen B. wrote:

Hi,

I work in a hospital.  Any discussion of your health issues by HR is a HIPPA violation, illegal and even can be grounds for legal action.  That nurse overstepped her boundaries and should know better.

I've been trying to find info that says Human Resources is bound by HIPPA laws. I have yet to find anything. I'm leaning towards not even telling her. I've been on chemo treatment for lupus that is not getting better so I'm leaning towards just saying I need to focus on my health.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 10/12/14 8:22 am - OH

HR employees aren't bound by HIPAA. Just by professionalism.  Tell her as little as you can (see my post below).

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 10/12/14 8:20 am - OH