Falling off the ban wagon 16 months post op

kristina722
on 10/12/14 6:42 am - VA

looking for advice from those that may have fallen off the ban wagon 16 month or more post op.  What should I do to get myself back on track?  I have an office job so I do not get much movement during the day.  I keep making excuses for myself but need to stop the excuses and get back on track.  I have no complications with any foods except milk.  Thinking of going on the liquid phase to jumpstart the weight loss.  I have lost 80 pounds and now I have lost the same 5 pounds over and over again.  I am getting nowhere.

poet_kelly
on 10/12/14 6:59 am - OH

You don't need to go back to liquids.  Go back to what your post op plan says you should be eating.  What was your diet supposed to be like at one year out?  Do that again.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 10/12/14 7:49 am - OH

What Kelly said.

Going back to liquids is probably just going to make you feel like you are on a diet (you remember how UNsuccessful dieting was, right?), is going to be hard to stick to, and will probably end as most diets do: with you wanting to eat all sorts of things that you shouldn't in order to make up for not eating anything solid and having no variety in your intake. (Many people crave salty, crunchy snacks when they aren't eating anything solid and that is the first thing they reach for when the PT go back to eating solid food.)

Go back to eating lots of dense protein (meat, beans, fish,  cheese, etc.) and very few carbs (dairy products and non-starchy veggies only.  No drinking with meals.  Increase your physical activity. (And, as you said, stop the excuses.)