New to this

nurseslaughter
on 10/10/14 7:48 am

First off I am very new to this, so I apologize if I sound dumb about any of it. I have struggled with my weight my whole life.  I currently weigh 244lbs at 5'3". My doctor has suggested the gastric sleeve.  I am very nervous and have a consult next month. I am a nurse, and have seen horror stories so I am looking for success stories!! Can someone tell me theirs?? Thank you!

Valerie G.
on 10/10/14 8:57 am - Northwest Mountains, GA

Go up to the Forums link at the top of the page, and do a search by surgery type, you'll find Vertical Sleeve and it will take you to a captive audience.

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes

nurseslaughter
on 10/11/14 12:47 pm

Thank you

Gwen M.
on 10/10/14 9:08 am
VSG on 03/13/14

Well, I had my sleeve in March.  I started major diet changes in January.  I've lost 108 pounds since the beginning of the year and life is pretty amazing.  I exercise 10+ hours a week, I'm running my first 5k ever next weekend, I still love food and enjoy every bite I eat.  

I had one complication around month 3 - I had some weird spasm issue and had to take an antispasmodic for a week.  No problems other than that or since then!

VSG with Dr. Salameh - 3/13/2014
Diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and started Vyvanse - 7/22/2016
Reconstructive Surgeries with Dr. Michaels - 6/5/2017 (LBL & brachioplasty), 8/14/2017 (UBL & mastopexy), 11/6/2017 (medial leg lift)

Age 42 Height 5'4" HW 319 (1/3/2014) SW 293 (3/13/2014) CW 149 (7/16/2017)
Next Goal 145 - normal BMI | Total Weight Lost 170

TrendWeight | Food Blog (sort of functional) | Journal (down for maintenance)

GeekMonster, Insolent Hag
on 10/10/14 9:27 am - CA
VSG on 12/19/13

I'm still in the losing phase, so my perspective on the success of my sleeve is still short term.