New at all this ...

kyoung8214
on 10/7/14 1:57 pm - reisterstown , MD

Hi my names Kristina I'm new to the thought of WLS certainly not new to obesity im 322 lbs I also have Crohn's disease and that's kept me out of work im 21 and got married this year and recently  devastating    news this summer that because of my weight I haven't been able to carry a pregnancy to term we have lost two babies and it's killed me. This has all lead me to this situation this is out of my hands now and I'm scared . My dad got a gastric bypass 14 years ago and lost a lot of weight but he's sick all the time. After growing up watching him sick constantly from that surgery I swore I'd never do it. Well I went to my first consult last week thinking I'm going to the least invasive and reversible method and do the lap band and the doctor practically laughed in my face and said I won't lose anything over 50 lbs and that would be stupid. He is pushing me towards the sleeve but I'm really not ready for that I have had several surgeries and have had many other health issues my whole life im out of work because I'm sick all the time and I can't imagine asking for more pain discomfort and sickness. I'm at a loss I feel defeated I have dreamt of nothing more then being a mom and that has now been taken from me and my husband and it's my fault what should I do?!

thank u for taking the time to read this 

God bless 

Kristina 

Bette B.
on 10/8/14 1:05 am

Kristina:

No one can tell you what's best for you. You should weigh all your WLS options to determine which one is best for your lifestyle. You're a lot younger than most of us, and you're going to have to live with your decision for a long time: you want to make the right one and, preferably, not have to have another surgery down the road.