I'm New and Debating VSG Surgery

staci922
on 10/2/14 2:57 pm

Hello everyone. My name is Staci and I'm 25 years old. This is my first time posting on any WLS forum. I am currently 200 lbs and 5'0. I am feeling desperate to get VSG surgery, as I have yo-yo'd since I was like 9 years old and I am just at the point where I feel so tired and disappointed with the constant battle to control my weight. 

It also seems like there are so many complications involved in the process. My insurance doesn't currently cover it, and my husbands employer's insurance does (it's open enrollment btw) but his plan is just sooo expensive. Also, no one really is supporting my decision, including my husband or the rest of my family. They all seem so overly concerned about all the risks involved, which I can't seem to find out much about online. :/

I guess what I'm asking is if the surgery is really worth it, even if my loved ones are against it? I really just want the chance to be healthy for once in my life and I want to diminish my risks for future health complications. Since I have no one to talk to who gets me IRL, I was hoping to make some friends on here who I can talk with to help me through the process. Also, anyone has some advice for me about the surgery regarding insurance, risks, or general support/info, please let me know. I would really appreciate it!

It's so nice to meet you all as well!! Thanks again!! :)  

Valerie G.
on 10/2/14 11:27 pm, edited 10/2/14 11:29 pm - Northwest Mountains, GA

Hello Staci and welcome!