Mental Health and Medications Question

Deborahq
on 10/4/14 8:22 am

Hello,  

I live with Bipolar Disorder, and am looking for information from anyone who is taking psychiatric medications and has had Gastric Bypass Surgery.  At the orientation I learned that there are a significant amount of vitamins needed to be taken for the rest of my life after surgery.  I am concerned that I just may not be able to take all those vitamins and all my psych meds as none come in liquid form.

I'd appreciate insight from anyone's personal experience.  I don't see the Nurse Practitioner until the end of the month. 

Thanks!  

poet_kelly
on 10/4/14 9:03 am - OH

How do you take your psych meds now?  There is no reason you can't swallow pills after gastric bypass.  Unless you have some sort of throat or swallowing disorder unrelated to your gastric bypass, I mean.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Deborahq
on 10/4/14 10:37 am

Thank you Kelly.

Deb

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 10/4/14 10:11 am - OH

The only Psych meds that you will probably need to change would be any that are "extended release" or "timed release" because they won't absorb nearly as well after a RNY (because of the shortened intestine). You might need to adjust the dosage on others after surgery if they don't absorb quite as well, but usually that is just a minor adjustment.