In the beginning.....

mljohns
on 9/23/14 2:43 am
DS on 01/27/15

Hi everyone, I'm new to OH and new to the process of preparing for WLS. I am a type 2 diabetic and have been on an insulin pump for several years. I use U500 insulin in my pump due to severe insulin resistance. I have been fat my entire life and like most have tried every diet/exercise program out there. Being an insulin user, it is extremely difficult to lose weight no matter the diet plan or the amount of exercise. This of course leads to frustration and frustration leads to chocolate. After a miserable failure of trying a vegan program as a way to control my blood sugar and lose weight, I started giving serious thought to WLS. Two co-workers had surgery last year (1 had DS, the other RNY), they're both extremely happy with their choice and they look and feel fabulous. I honestly have always considered WLS as the "easy" way. As I'm doing research I'm finding I was wrong. There is no "easy" way. So far, I'm back on a high protein/low carb diet to be followed with a clear liquid diet. My surgeon calls it the "sandwich diet". I had an endoscopy last week and several tests preparing for surgery. I don't have a surgery date but am hoping for some time in mid to late December. With all of the above said, here's my question for you surgery vets.....what is the one thing you wish you had known before you had surgery? If you had known that, would you still have had surgery?

SandieMc49
on 9/23/14 6:20 am

The emotional roller coaster that is WLS and losing large amounts of weight.  The emotional roller coaster that is seeing your body a smaller size and your mind seeing your pre-surgical self because your mind hadn't caught up yet.  I didn't know that was normal.  Of all the things in all the literature I was given and topics at the support groups I attended, that was never addressed.  I have always said that I am going to write a book entitled "Life Was So Much Easier When I Was Fat!"