DS for Teens?

megan1217
on 9/13/14 2:59 pm

Hi guys... I'm new to this so please hang with me!

I plan on having a DS in the middle of December this year. I just have a couple questions for people who have gone through it already. I am currently 19 years old, and weigh about 240 lbs. Two of my biggest concerns are tightening loose skin after weight loss, and the pain level after surgery. Anyone have any comments???  

Thanks in advance!! 

Valerie G.
on 9/14/14 12:35 am, edited 9/14/14 12:35 am - Northwest Mountains, GA

Hello Megan!

If you've not found it already, I invite you to go over to the DS page to get a more captive audience specific to the DS, but these questions are pretty general.

Loose skin is something individual to the person.  How bad it's going to be is dependent on a combination of age, how long you've been MO, genetics, sprinkled with a little luck.  There are no magical creams, lotions or exercises to change it, but I'd say that youth is on your side.  Until you can afford plastics if you need them, lycra shapers have come a long way and I don't go to work without them.

Pain levels are very well controlled.  When I came home, I only needed the pain meds for a week or less, then only at bedtime (to counteract discomfort so I could sleep more than pain).  The rest of the time for another week or so, Aleve did the trick for the day.

Another thing I"d like to recommend is that you talk to your school about possibly doing some home-study to get you through January if you need it.  I was very listless for a good 6 weeks post op, and my recovery was picture perfect.  Some are extremely resilient and bouncing off of the walls after two weeks, too.  The standard expectation, though is a good 4 weeks to recover.