Newbie Here and Curious

MsBatt
on 9/13/14 1:56 am

If your surgeon doesn't do the DS---and odds are good he doesn't, sine there aren't a lot of DS surgeons out there---he's not likely to give you complete, accurate info about it. That's why I suggest everyone research ALL the surgery types for themselves, then once they decide what's best for them, choose a surgeon based on his experience in doing the procedure the patient wants.

Christian I.
on 9/10/14 5:01 am - TX

Hi CMo,

Welcome to OH, I found so much help here when I was researching the surgery myself.

I've not been to the OH boards in over 2.5 years, and I can't think of a better way to join the party than to Pass It On!

I had surgery (RNY) back in the dark ages, 2002. At the time I could not even have THAT surgery in Austin but had to drive to Houston to have it. I've done very well with it even long term post-op. I will admit that I envy you NEWBIES with the endless supply of options, but honestly, it probably would have given me Paralysis by Analysis.

Good luck, keep us posted!

Christian

CMo
on 9/12/14 7:55 am

Christian,

It absolutely has given me Paralysis by Analysis. I am realizing I do not know enough about each surgery and will need to do much research before I meet with my surgeon on Thursday. 

Thanks so much!

Cynthia

greensleeved
on 9/10/14 5:03 am
VSG on 07/10/14 with

I didn't want to deal with dumping - EVER - so that was the deciding factor for me. The malabsorption was an issue for me too. The sleeve has a slightly lower success rate (I think), so it may depend on how much you need to lose. I wanted to keep my body as close to "normal" as possible so I didn't want to reroute my insides. If I experience regain, I might think about revision to the DS, but the sleeve seemed like a less drastic option to me.

"Free your ass, and your mind will follow."  HW - 287, Start W - 273, Surgery W - 257, Onederland - 4 months 1 week post op,  100 lbs lost - 8 months 1 week, CW - 162

CMo