Newbie Here and Curious

CMo
on 9/9/14 11:47 am

Hi! I am battling back and forth between having the VGS and the RNY. I am meeting with my surgeon next week and am a bit confused. What were the deciding factors for some of you? Why did you choose one over the other? I was set on the RNY - then I started reading about the nutrition deficiencies and got nervous. Do you run that risk with both? Is there greater weight loss with one or the other? 

Thanks so much!

cptprkchp
on 9/9/14 9:18 pm

Hello and welcome!

I had RNY over 7 years ago but I never had the option of VSG or DS- for me it was either the lapband or gastric bypass.  So, with that being said- I don't regret my decision.  I can't say that I have always felt that way but I definitely believe that is just part of the process.  I honestly don't know much about the other options but there are plenty of folks on here who do and they will be along shortly to share!

Best of luck to you!

CMo
on 9/10/14 2:53 am

Thank you so much for taking the time to respond. It is greatly appreciated!

Brad Special
Snowflake

on 9/9/14 10:05 pm
VSG on 12/06/12

I am going to share a link from the bariatric surgeon's association. It explains each surgery and gives facts about them. You can also explore this website to find out a lot of other things. procedures

Tracy D.
on 9/10/14 12:54 am - Papillion, NE
VSG on 05/24/13

Research indicates that initial weight loss with RNY is faster but that eventually both surgeries end up having the same weight loss success in the end. 

Deciding factors for me:  didn't want malabsorption issue and all the potential vitamin deficiencies and requirements for lots of vitamins that come with it; wanted the least invasive/fastest performed/least complicated surgery possible (I have anesthesia issues); didn't want a "blind" stomach left inside me; wanted the ability to take NSAIDs in the future.