Why Can't I Stop Eating?

(deactivated member)
on 9/7/14 9:52 am

You know you're not doing well when you eat and eat until you feel sick. I've always been taught to try to finish everything on my plate so that it doesn't get wasted. I know I am not good at portioning out my meals, and I eat several times in a day. Today I poured a bowl of salsa to go with corn chips. For some reason (even though I know I just ate something) I continue to stuff it in. I feel out of control, and now I feel the consequences because of it - stomach ache, bloating, gas, burping. It's so hard to get back on track when I've fallen so far off. Maybe if chips and salsa were not kept in the house, I would be better off. I am not the one that does the shopping around here, so I rarely have a choice about what is brought home.

poet_kelly
on 9/7/14 9:55 am - OH

Do you measure your food?  It helps me to measure my portion and then put the rest of the food away before I begin to eat.  For instance, I would measure out a half cup of salsa and count out 15 tortilla chips, or something like that.  I rarely buy things like tortilla chips because I tend to overeat them anyway, but measuring the salsa and counting out the chips and then putting the chips and salsa away before I sit down to eat helps me with that.

Other than choosing not to measure your food, I don't know why you can't stop eating.  You might want to talk to a therapist about it.  I think it's an issue many of us have dealt with.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

(deactivated member)
on 9/7/14 10:00 am, edited 9/7/14 10:03 am