SLEEP AID

anna R.
on 9/3/14 5:12 am

I suffer from fibro and oa along with some other issues, I have reached my goal. My question is has anyone out there used melatonin as a sleep aid? And if so what dose did you take? Due to the malabsorption I'm wondering how much I should take. I am on a number of drugs for pain and to help me sleep, but they don't do it all the time. It was suggested that I give this a try as it is an organic supplement. Thanks much! 

Anna

poet_kelly
on 9/3/14 5:36 am - OH

It is not organic.  The melatonin you can buy as a sleep aid or other supplement is synthetic, made in factories.  It's a synthetic version of a hormone that is naturally produced our body.  So it is not organic.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

jeterway
on 9/3/14 5:49 am

I take melatonin to help me get to sleep.  I have lots of trouble winding down at the end of the night no matter how much I try.  So I drink a glass of milk and take 2 melatonin - that usually does it for me although I have still had some rough times falling asleep.  I believe I take 5 mg pills - don't have them with me at the moment.  But if I take them, I am usually out in about 15 minutes.

Cathy W.
on 9/3/14 5:55 am

While I don't have Fibro or OA, I struggle with insomnia and it is so frustrating.  I've taken 5 mg of Melatonin per night on/off for months. 

Debola
on 9/3/14 6:02 am

I tried melatonin, but it gave me horrible nightmares...

anna R.
on 9/4/14 2:07 am