NEW.....

shellyclarke
on 8/4/14 1:46 pm - kingwood, TX

WHAT HAPPENS TO YOUR STOMACH AFTER BEING STAPLED? DOES IT PERMANENTLY CLOSE BACK TOGETHER OR DO U HAAVE STAPLES 4 EVER??

bertgamble2001
on 8/4/14 4:42 pm - Willits, CA

I am new to this as well, but I am pretty sure the staples stay in, and you do not need another procedure to remove them.  Of course that does not mean that you stomach does not heal permanently.  That happens too.

DarcyB
on 8/5/14 1:47 am - Melbourne, Australia
RNY on 08/22/14

My surgeon told me that the stomach heals over the staples, which stay in. But they aren't the big horrible staples they use to close up a big wound after surgery, they are tiny little micro staples.

RNY Gastric Bypass done in Melbourne, Australia, August 22, 2014
Blog: A Variant of Normal http://avariantofnormal.wordpress.com  
Weight Lost since Pre-op Diet start, 1st Aug 2014

MsBatt
on 8/5/14 2:14 am

The staples are forever, and ideally your stomach forms scar tissue that covers them.

shellyclarke
on 8/5/14 2:04 pm - kingwood, TX

That sounds bad! So your stomach never grows back together... I cant imagine staples holding your stomach together for the rest of your life.... I know this woman who had the surgery 3/20 and at least twice a month she wakes up vomiting... She asks everyone on fb to please pray for her....  is the scar tissue making her that sick... could it be growing in her stomach?......  

MsBatt
on 8/6/14 1:10 am

No no no---you're misunderstanding entirely. Try this---take a piece of paper, and fold it in half. Now, along the edges, raw some small marks that we'll pretend are staples, okay? Now, fold the edges over AGAIN, covering the staple marks. Now the staples are completely covered, right? and all the edges of the paper are sealed together, right? (This is your stomach immediately after surgery---water-tight!)