After surgery: Difficult to eat foods??

ConfidenceIsKey
on 7/23/14 3:36 am

So before I decided on the sleeve I went to a seminar type thing about the different weightloss surgeries. 

When it came to the gastric bypass it said that people have a hard time with bread and pasta after surgery. 

Does this happen with the sleeve also? 

Is there other foods that are difficult to eat afterwards? 

poet_kelly
on 7/23/14 4:18 am - OH

I think it really varies from person to person.  I had gastric bypass and I have no trouble at all with bread.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Tracy D.
on 7/23/14 4:24 am, edited 7/23/14 4:24 am - Papillion, NE
VSG on 05/24/13

In my experience as a sleever - oh yeah!  I won't even try pasta because my experience with bread, especially early out, was negative.  My one and only vomiting experience was because of a couple bites of toast :-( 

Even at over a year out, if I indulge in bread it causes horrible noises in my stomach and takes up a lot of room that should really be saved for protein or veggies.  Do I eat it?  Occasionally, but I almost always regret it.  I don't consider any pasta to be worth the carbs it contains.  And as a Type 2 diabetic controlling my glucose with diet and exercise, I don't want or need the crazy-high sugar spike that ALWAYS comes with bread, rice and pasta.  

Edited:  ...and hard-boiled eggs were another thing I couldn't handle right away.  Those and anything super greasy like brats or sausage.  I can do all of that now.  But in the early days hard-boiled eggs got "stuck" and greasy stuff made me nauseous.