Brand new here and excited!

scarletred
on 7/11/14 9:55 am
VSG on 10/07/14

I'm new to the OH community and excited! 

I asked my P/C for a referral for a prior auth for bariatric surgery consultation back in April and it was approved within a few days. I went to a seminar in my home town last month for Del Sol bariatrics and at that point I was just researching,  and gathering information after spending my entire adult life obese. I'm 40 and started gaining weight as a middle schooler. I had 4 children and with each pregnancy I gained more than I was supposed to and lost very little of it with birth. I'm 5'7 and at my highest I weighed 317 lbs which was the end of January 2014.

I went to a consultation yesterday with Dr. Acosta and he says I'm definitely a  candidate for surgery and he recommended what I already had in mind: The sleeve. So now I have my lab/ekg orders etc and I've gotten the ball rolling! I'm really hopeful about the approval through my insurance, and I'm not wasting any time getting the required testing done. Then I need to be cleared for surgery from my P/C which shouldn't be a problem. I'm very lucky he's on board with the surgery. Once it's all done, we'll submit to the insurance and I should know within the next couple of months whether or not I'm approved! I couldn't be more excited!!

~Yolanda                                                        HW316 ConsultW293 SW275 CW234 GW150

M1-22 M2-7 M3-XX M4-XX M5-XX M6-XX M7-XX M8-XX M9-XX M10-XX M11-XX M12-XX

Cheryl H.
on 7/11/14 11:46 am - Crowley , TX
VSG on 07/24/14