Suggestions with coping with the depession/sadness of breaking up with food. 2 weeks post...

JuniperLane
on 7/11/14 4:37 pm

I am keenly aware of the emotions coming from my break-up with food.  More aptly put, the cessation of allowing myself to eat whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted.  I remember the hell I felt before the surgery...  26 years (I am 34) of yo-yo dieting, the guilt associated with food, the emotions surrounding trying to shop, the not looking or feeling good, the not being looked at by people...  and the truth is, nothing tastes as good as a size 12 feels..  I tell myself this even though I have not his this size yet (On Monday I will be 6 weeks post-op and I have gone from size 26 to 20).

I have spent the better part of 3 months analyzing my WLS decision, my association/relationship with food, what my life was going to be like post-WLS (I am a counseling masters student who already over analyzes).  What I know is that I have disordered thinking about food.  I prefer to say this instead of saying I have an eating disorder.  I am currently meeting with a counselor but she is not what I was looking for in a counselor so when our sessions are up, I will be finding a new counselor (I get free counseling through my university).  So, I have had to do much of the research myself.  What I have come to learn is that I MUST LEARN TO LIVE DIFFERENTLY.  Mourn your loss but look forward to a life of less restriction... 

The question I have for you is: What are you looking forward to as you lose weight?  The day you meet your weight loss goal...  what does that look like? 

Surgery Date: 6/2/2014     Highest: 333     Pre-Op Diet:  305    Surgery Day:    291     Current:  255     

jastypes
on 7/14/14 3:39 am - Croydon, PA