Teeth!!

southernlady5464
on 7/9/14 10:30 pm
On July 9, 2014 at 7:19 PM Pacific Time, C. Harvey wrote:

Yes, I take calcium...and I keep a check on my levels frequently...I am a Lab Technician...all my labs accept for my Iron and Vit D are normal

These were my recent labs

With a ferritn THAT low, I would get infusions NOW.

I'm going for infusions and my ferritin is 23.7 which is almost 5 times higher than yours.

Symptoms of low ferritin/iron:

• weakness
  • fatigue
  • pica (urge to eat non food items: dirt, ice, hair, coins, etc)
  • shortness of breath
  • irregular heart beat
  • sensitivity to cold weakness
  • pale skin and membranes (inside of mouth, eyelids)
  • restless legs syndrome
  • sore tongue
  • spoon-shaped fingernails
  • headache
  • dizziness
  • drowsiness
  • syncope (loss of consciousness)
  • enlarged spleen

Question? If what you are currently using isn't working, why NOT try a different D and different iron? TRY the dry form of D for a few months to see if it helps.

Duodenal Switch (Lap) 01-24-11 | Surgeon: Stephen Boyce | High weight: 250 in 2002 | Surgery weight: 203 | Lowest weight: 121 | Current weight: 135 | Goal weight: 135

H.A.L.A B.
on 7/7/14 7:17 am

too much D can be dangerous 

Are there safety concerns?

Vitamin D is LIKELY SAFE when taken by mouth in recommended amounts. Most people do not commonly experience side effects with vitamin D, unless too much is taken. Some side effects of taking too much vitamin D include weakness, fatigue, sleepiness, headache, loss of appetite, dry mouth, metallic taste, nausea, vomiting, and others.

Taking vitamin D for long periods of time in doses higher than 4000 units per day is POSSIBLY UNSAFE and may cause excessively high levels of calcium in the blood. However, much higher doses are often needed for the short-term treatment of vitamin D deficiency. This type of treatment should be done under the supervision of a healthcare provider.

Special precautions & warnings: