regain weight

Eddiecruzer
on 6/21/14 1:38 pm
with

I had a gastric sleeve performed and it's been 1 year and 3 months. I have lost 120 pounds and I feel good. The only problem is that I have tried to stop the weight lose but I just can't seem to stop. I'm at a point where it's getting hard for me to function on a normal basis due to the lack of energy. I eat as many fatty foods as I can and drink a lot of protein shakes. Does anybody know anything I can go to regain some weight?

Ladytazz
on 6/22/14 12:18 am

Since there is no malabsorption with the sleeve then the reason you are still losing weight is because you aren't eating enough.  The food you eat may be higher in calories but obviously the portions aren't big enough.

I don't think just reducing the size of your stomach would change your metabolism to where you suddenly aren't able to gain weight no matter how much you eat but I'm not a doctor.

At one year it isn't uncommon for people to lose a bit more then they wanted, which isn't a bad thing really if they don't get underweight or it doesn't affect their health.  As you get further out your eating capacity will grow and you will have the famous bounce back everyone talks about.  If you are under your ideal weight then hopefully the bounce back will take you exactly where you want to be.

One thing I will caution you about is don't view needed to put on some weight as a free for all.  You can certainly gain weight with healthy food and there is no reason to eat junk to gain weight.  Many have let that genie out of the bottle and had a hell of a time getting it back.

If you can't eat a lot then eat often.  Snack on things like nuts and cheese, peanut butter on celery sticks, things like that.

Adding a few protein shakes will help, as well.  Just remember to do it in a controlled way so that if you find your weight drifting too far up you will be able to cut back to where you want to be.

Good luck to you.

WLS 10/28/2002 Revision 7/23/2010