One week post op and struggling

VSG_IV
on 6/17/14 10:27 am

Hey everyone! I'm new here so any advice would be great. I had a VSG a week ago from today (6/10/14) and I am struggling with getting in the recommended amounts of protein and water! I'm ALWAYS full :( I cant seem to finish a bottle of the ISOPURE clear, I get maybe a quarter way through it then cant stand it. Right now I am stuck with just the liquids, yogurt and such. I am going crazy! I'm pretty sure the lack of protein is the leading cause of my exhaustion too. When I drink my water I am too full for protein, when I drink my protein I am too full for water. How did you guys make it through?? Any help is greatly appreciated.

poet_kelly
on 6/17/14 12:11 pm - OH

Drink the protein.  That is a fluid as well as protein, so it's like a two-for-one deal.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Steffan467
on 6/17/14 12:15 pm

I had the same problem.  Actually since I have been careful not to stretch my pouch out I still do.  The best way to do it is all though out the day.  Always have a bottle of water.  A sip here and sip there and you can make it.  The same with you protein.  A little bit often.  This isn't a three meals a day type of surgery.  You have to do a little several times a day.  In time it will change and you will be able to eat a little larger amounts less often.  Hang in there you will make it I promise.

Brenda

223/112/123  11 lbs under goal.  Normal weight.  My blog shows from the beginning of my journey  http://www.obesityhelp.com/member/steffan467/blog_page,9/
I have Lost a Whole Josh
Ilostajosh2.jpg picture by Steffan6699      \ http://www.obesityhelp.com/member/steffan467/blog_page,9/