Are you new to the ObesityHelp Community? Introduce yourself

Mrs_McGoodman
on 6/29/14 8:03 am

Hi, I am new to OH.  A friend of mine that had surgery referred this website to me.  I am scheduled for surgery 8/26.  Initially, I was scheduled to have surgery July 1 but my employer wouldn't approve my time so it had to be rescheduled.  I am so looking forward to the surgery.... 

Member Services
on 6/29/14 8:22 am - Irvine, CA

Congratulations on taking control of your life and your weight loss journey on August 26th. 

We suggest you research all your options for WLS and OH is the right place for that.  As a new member of the OH community, we've provided some links below to various message boards. You didn't say which procedure you've chosen for your WLS so below are links to the surgery boards. Also, make sure that you check out the features on the drop down menu of "My OH" such as Health Tracker.  

tammiesut70
on 6/29/14 5:46 pm - Barboursville, WV

I am new to the forum and I have a few questions for all of you. First, have any of you had a revision surgery after gastric by-pass? Secondly, why is it so difficult to find a surgeon that will do this type of revision? I had my initial surgery in 1999 and it was very successful. I west from 285-290 down to 138!!I am now back up to 230 and I am finding it extremely difficult to lose this weight using conventional methods. I am 44 years old and currently going through menopause so I'm sure that is hindering my weight loss endeavor. I am desperate, please help. 

Member Services
on 6/29/14 9:56 pm - Irvine, CA

Check out the Revision message board and RNY message board

Best of luck to you!

Sfolden
on 6/29/14 10:26 pm

I am a newbie to the site. I have my VSG scheduled for July 21, 2014 and am both excited and nervous. Excited because after being overweight since age 10, and trying numerous weight loss programs, losing weight and then gaining it back, I will have what I hope is a better tool and chance to be succesful.