Lap Band vs Gastric Sleeve

Ellen C.
on 6/11/14 8:22 am

I am currently scheduled to have a Lap Band Procedure in 2 weeks and I am having second thoughts.  I am panicked that I will gain the weight back and won't be able to stick to the diet.  I am starting to consider the Gastric Sleeve.  Any suggestions or advice??  I am 35 and have a BMI of 41.

poet_kelly
on 6/11/14 11:52 am - OH

I would never do the band.  The rate of complications is far too high.  In fact, many surgeons and hospitals, including the Mayo Clinic, won't even do bands at all anymore. 

At the least, I would talk to your surgeon about how many patients he or she has had to remove bands from.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Hislady
on 6/11/14 12:38 pm - Vancouver, WA

I only know of 2 people who are successful with their bands, the rest of the people I know with bands have had damage from them. They have had everything from severe GERD (myself included) to 2 people i know who have had such severe damage they have had to have their entire stomachs removed! Myself I wouldn't wish one on my worst enemy. They are only good for 10 years max IF it lasts that long and you haven't had problems long before that. Many, many surgeons as Kelly said won't even do them any more, plus you never know when your insuranmce may change like mine did and I had no bariatric coverage anymore which left me having to pay for removing the band out of my own pocket.