Telling ppl at work

startingmynewlife
on 6/9/14 7:48 am

Just wondering what you told ppl (if you didn't want to tell them you were having WLS). :)

poet_kelly
on 6/9/14 7:51 am - OH

I just said I was having surgery but didn't provide any further details.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Gwen M.
on 6/9/14 8:04 am, edited 6/9/14 8:04 am
VSG on 03/13/14

Prior to surgery, I only told people that would care if I died - you know, the people who shouldn't have found out I was having surgery from a phone call bearing bad news!  If people at work needed to know why I was going to be gone, I'd say "personal reasons that I'd rather not talk about."  

Post op, most people in my life aren't rude enough to ask how I'm losing weight.  If it happens, and it's a person I don't want to discuss my health with, I'll opt for some variation of "I'm sorry, but I'd rather not talk about this."  I think this is a better option than lying and saying "diet and exercise!"  

VSG with Dr. Salameh - 3/13/2014
Diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and started Vyvanse - 7/22/2016
Reconstructive Surgeries with Dr. Michaels - 6/5/2017 (LBL & brachioplasty), 8/14/2017 (UBL & mastopexy), 11/6/2017 (medial leg lift)

Age 42 Height 5'4" HW 319 (1/3/2014) SW 293 (3/13/2014) CW 149 (7/16/2017)
Next Goal 145 - normal BMI | Total Weight Lost 170

TrendWeight | Food Blog (sort of functional) | Journal (down for maintenance)

MsBatt
on 6/9/14 9:47 am

If you don't want to discuss your medical details, then don't---but please DON'T LIE. Just say "I'd rather not discuss that."