Does losing weight on supervised pre-surgery plan disqualify you from surgery?

malarkey
on 5/31/14 3:27 am

I am scared that if I lose weight during the 6 month supervised weight loss trial that I will be disqualified from having the surgery.

Is this a legitimate fear?

poet_kelly
on 5/31/14 4:58 am - OH

Generally not.  But check with your insurance company to find out their rules.  Some actually require some weight loss pre op, I think.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

VSG on 06/12/13

There is a post from another girl here on the same topic. Apparently she was denied because she fell below the required threshold of 40 BMI. Plans undoubtedly vary, however, and I would think there is plenty of room for appeal if they deny.

Laurie

Sleeved 6/12/13 - 100 pounds lost to get to goal!

Kate -True Brit
on 5/31/14 5:18 am - UK

Check out this      Posted a couple of hours ago and quite a few replies.

Highest 290, Banded - 248   Lowest 139 (too thin!). Comfort zone 155-165.

Happily banded since May 2006.  Regain of 28lbs 2013-14.  ALL GONE!

But some has returned! Up to 175, argh! Off we go again,

Lisa167
on 5/31/14 10:14 am
VSG on 08/14/14

this is a very good question.  Make sure you ask your insurance company.  They all differ!

Best of luck :)

pebtash
on 5/31/14 11:39 am
VSG on 11/25/14