b6

Patty M.
on 12/29/11 5:14 am
what does an elevated vitamin b6 level mean and any side affects from it being high? Also can we take extended release medications? I never heard we couldn't but I thought someone posted that we can't and if not what is the reasoning behind it? Thanks in advance.

Happy new year

Patty
poet_kelly
on 12/29/11 6:42 am - OH
How elevated is it?

The issue with extended release meds is that they are designed to be absorbed over 12 to 24 hours.  Since you no longer have a pyloric valve and part of your intestine has been bypassed, the pill won't stay in your system that long.  Therefore you'll only absorb part of it.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

FLJeepGirl
on 12/29/11 6:44 am
I'm not sure about your b6 question (check out the RNY Forum - there are several veteran vitamin gurues on there)...but I may be able to help you with the extended release.  I tax nexium for acid reduction and I do know it is extended release.  We, however, cannot take anything containing NSAIDs (a lot come in extended release forms).  Definately check with your pharmacist and/or doctor if you have any doubts.  Happy New Year to you as well!
                      Leslie
       Lap-Band 4.11.08                                     RNY Revision 8.1.11
       HW 276/ SW 259/ LW 219                       HW 283/ CW 218

Patty M.
on 12/29/11 7:46 am
thank You for replying, my vitamin  b6 is 31.0 it is supposed to be 21 so I was just wondering about that. As for the extended release I will call my Pharmacist and check it out. Thank you too all and again Happy new Year and be safe.
                                    Patty
Medley411
on 12/29/11 8:41 am