Gastric Bypass & being a truck driver

sunshine1969
on 6/18/11 11:45 pm - LeMars, IA
Hey all, I looked for this topic and didn't see it. Sorry Vets if I missed it. I was just wondering if there are any long haul truck drivers that have had WL surgery and how you are working it in to your daily driving life.
Thanks for any input.

PS Weight 230.7, S Weight 225.0 

~ Carla ~

Lori P.
on 6/19/11 1:01 am - Kenosha, WI
I am not a truck driver...but I am a nurse and we frequently don't get break....I also don't have time to microwave a meal.   I have to preplan my food and vitamins and make sure that I have packed lots of things that can be eaten on the run (string cheese, pieces of chicken, and other finger foods).  It works as long as I plan my day.   

SW 212 / Goal 130 / Current 130

sunshine1969
on 6/19/11 4:11 am - LeMars, IA
Thanks Lori, It is very hard when you are so limited. I agree that as long as we plan ahead it works. Luckily we have both a fridge and microwave in the truck, so I am able to cook when we are home and prepackage some meals. Finger foods are such a great invention . I'm having a hard time working in exercise time at the moment. We have been running about 5000 miles a week. That doesn't leave a whole lot of time for stopping. 

~ Carla ~

neweyeswideopen
on 6/20/11 2:22 am - Cedar Rapids, IA
Woohoo a fellow Iowan! Are you doing all the driving? I noticed you said we..you could always take some free weights/resistance bands to do if you are passenger and when you stop make the best of it with walking/taking care of your truck and loads. It will take lots of planning, but I'm sure you will do great.
"To dream, I must imagine pure joy, belive I can achieve perfection, and take pride in a life changing journey" - ME

Amy Farrah Fowler
on 6/19/11 4:20 am