Duodenal Switch: Bariatric Surgeons' Ethical and Legal Obligations

(deactivated member)
on 11/29/09 2:36 am - Canandaigua, NY
Go Diana!!!   I'm not very familiar with legal issues - is this effective from the date of these rulings or retroactively?  Could all those people who were never told about other options, including the VSG and DS, sue now, or would that only apply to people having consultations from the date of those rulings forward?  This is great news for patients everywhere of everykind! 

(deactivated member)
on 11/29/09 2:45 am - San Jose, CA
The usual caveats: I am not a litigator; I am not an insurance lawyer (yet?); state laws differ, etc.

However, it appears to me from what I have read that these ethical obligations have existed for many many years, and the legal cause of action of the failure to provide informed consent would apply retroactively (because it existed even without these cases).  These cases did not CHANGE any law, they applied the existing legal and ethical obligations and found the doctors failed to provide their patients with the required treatment options and thus denied them the ability to give informed consent to the procedure that was conducted on them.

Let the suing begin!
Tassia
on 11/29/09 2:50 am
I am not an insurance lawyer (yet?) 

I couldn't think of a better person to tackle this head on.  Nor a better direction at this crossroads of your career!
*   Take 1 DS, add a little p90x and stir :)
5' 3"  HW 293/SW 253/Goal 130/CW 128

Mary_J
on 11/29/09 4:14 am
Hmmm . . . . a failed VBG and a failed revision to that VBG, and I wasn't even told about the RnY!  The DS was for sure not out of the closet yet, back then, but the BPD and the RnY were.  I've lived with, and am still living with, food getting stuck because of the damn thing!

5' 5" -  317.5 / 132 / 134  SW / CW / GW

ARMelanie
on 11/29/09 5:18 am - AR