Officially 1 week post-op

(deactivated member)
on 9/27/19 10:49 am

Well I've made it to 1 week post op! I'm feeling great. Haven't had any real pain since about day 2-3. I go back to work Monday and I'm brainstorming about how to get everything in(fluids, protein etc). I'm a cardiovascular surgical tech and my day starts at 5:45am and I work 10hr days. I can't just be in surgery and be like "OK TIME OUT, I need to sip" lol. Anyone else in my field? Any advice?

As far as everything else, I'm great. I haven't had any issues getting my water or protein in. Honestly, I don't think I've even reached or felt myself getting full. I can drink nice sized gulps in moderation, or I just haven't tried more. And my soft foods are going down great with zero discomfort. I WILL say I'm getting sick of sweet drinks. Oh and genepro DOES have aftertaste which I'm sick of as well lol. I hear a lot of people have trouble getting their fluids in and I just hope I'm not pushing too far!

as for stats I've lost 9lbs as of this morning. That's not including the 6lbs I gained from surgery that I lost too I figured that's a "gimme" lol

White Dove
on 9/28/19 6:54 am - Warren, OH

I felt great after surgery and was afraid that the "other shoe would fall", but I kept feeling better every day. I went back to work in a week. I did work at a desk and could sip all day. It sounds like that is not an option for you, so be very careful about not getting dehydrated.

Real life begins where your comfort zone ends

Round_Tiger
on 9/28/19 9:40 am
VSG on 07/09/19

Congrats Jen! Your experience sounds identical to how mine was. I find that I'm walking around with water constantly. I can't sit there and down a 16 oz bottle like I used to be able to do. So instead, I'll nurse a bottle for an hour or two, will eat, wait, drink another bottle, rinse/repeat.