Was VSG a Mistake?

kamac
on 8/8/18 11:20 am
VSG on 07/09/18

I'm just a couple of weeks behind you in terms of surgery date (so still very new at this too) but I wanted to say I'm sorry you're feeling so down and frustrated. This process is definitely not easy. It's understandable that concern for your liver is making you more anxious, too.

I'm not a medical professional but, even though your weight is in a stall right now, it doesn't mean there aren't healthy, positive changes happening inside your body. Here in Canada, wls patients are put on Optifast shakes for a few weeks before surgery, to shrink the liver. Some folks lose a lot of weight during Optifast, but some folks don't. Sometimes they post on the Ontario board, worried they aren't losing weight. But the answer from the vets is always the same- even though you aren't losing weight on the scale, your liver is still losing fat and shrinking. And they're right.

So your weight loss might be temporarily stalled, but your body is still receiving many benefits from your food plan, vitamins, and water intake.

I also agree with Ginny, having to go through a bunch of stressful invasive medical procedures doesn't help either. Between the surgery and all that, your body's probably saying OH HELL NO until it has a little more time to adjust.

Hope you're feeling better soon.

Kara
Highest Weight: 420; Opti Starting Weight: 395; Surgery Weight: 371;
Current Weight: 322.1; Goal Weight: 160

"Find things beautiful as much as you can, most people find too little beautiful."
-Vincent Van Gogh

Colonel_Panic
on 8/9/18 6:54 am - Raleigh, NC
VSG on 04/08/19

Also keep the long run in mind - after you're down to goal weight, your sleeve will still be there to help you keep the weight off (which is the bigger challenge in my opinion).

PCBR
on 8/9/18 7:36 am, edited 8/9/18 12:38 am

As someone who has a sad history of losing and gaining hundreds of pounds since I was 11 years old, big +1 on this.