Hiatel Hernia and lipoma removal

Jaylee1215
on 8/30/17 12:16 pm

Hi all I am new to the Losers bench as of yesterday. 8.29.17. During my Surgery my surgeon found a large hiatel hernia and a lipoma (fat deposit) above my stomach. Has anyone had one of these repaired when they had the Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy performed? How did you feel post op.. How did your fluids and other clear liquids go down.any tips or guidance is gladly appreciated!

Agran
on 8/30/17 4:42 pm

I had a hiatus hernia repaired at the same time and found it a *****allenging after to swallow. In hindsight, I am 6 weeks out, it was good for me. Helped me to eat slower, kept me on puréed food a little bit longer but that was okay.

On the positive side I no longer snore - my hubby is happy.

Just take your time setting and drinking. It did improve in week 4, don't ru****

Congrats on your surgery and welcome to the forum

Jaylee1215
on 8/31/17 2:43 am

Thanks so much for your speedy reply. How many weeks did you take off of work. My Surgeon says 4. I originally planned for 2 before the surgery but now I need longer. I take care of kids so I'm lifting them constantly all day.

Agran
on 8/31/17 11:57 am

I ended up taking 3 off. I ended up with extremely low blood pressure and was incredibly weak. Still tired but getting better. Always take a few more days than you think, your body will thank you later.

hannahg22
on 8/30/17 5:02 pm
VSG on 08/15/17

I also had a hiatial hernia repaired when I had my VSG. I'm 3 weeks post op today and I feel fine! I'm on "soft foods" as of today. At first it felt weird when I was swallowing something, especially when I was sipping liquid. The hot and cold, I could really feel it go down. BUT, I no longer have constant acid reflux which is a huuuuge deal for me.

Jaylee1215
on 8/31/17 2:47 am