eosinophilic esophagitis & vsg?

xoxsarahxo2
on 8/25/17 3:38 pm
VSG on 10/19/17

Hi guys. I'm a little stressed/worried to say the least. I got back home from my upper endoscopy a few hours ago & the doc that performed it gave me some bad news. He said he thinks I have EOE & was asking me if I ever had trouble swallowing, getting food caught in my throat, etc. honestly, this came as a shock to me bc I have never had any of these problems. He also said that once they test the biopsy for the final result, he's not sure if the surgeon will want to go through with performing vsg. I am beside myself. I've been working so hard for 7 months now, jumping through hoops, dieting to lose the required weight, missing work for various appointments, and it could all be for nothing. I guess my question is has anyone else on here had experience with EOE pre op & what did your surgeon decide to do? Any advice will help.

Thank you

Doriam R.
on 8/25/17 7:27 pm - Austin, TX
VSG on 07/12/17

Are you having a lap band revision? My lap band gave me a dilated esophagus and I am haveing a lot of problems not feeling any restriction after my VSG... I dont know what you have and I am not a doctor but my advice, take care of the esophagus problem before proceding with the VSG. So you dont find yourself in my boat...

Best of luck

(deactivated member)
on 8/25/17 7:46 pm - Overland Park, KS
VSG on 09/18/17

Sorry to hear that, but, I'm guessing this is something they can get under control with PPIs. Don't lose hope, just hang in there and keep following the path. I hope this is only a little bump in the road for you.

Grim_Traveller
on 8/26/17 3:53 am
RNY on 08/21/12

Because of the prevalence of gerd after VSG, it would cause problems for anyone who already has eosinophilic esophagitis. RNY might actually help resolve your condition, and is probably a wiser choice, Did the surgeon mention that as an option?

6'3" tall, male.

Highest weight was 475. RNY on 08/21/12. Current weight: 198.