Short fuse

Donna L.
on 6/2/17 9:33 pm - Chicago, IL
Revision on 02/19/18

Very few therapists specialize in bariatrics... there's not really a bariatric specialty or credential we can get like nurses. I was told to specialize in eating disorders, because that's...sort of...the closest? Except it's not, because not all WLS patients have an eating disorder by far. And, treating WLS patients involves integrated care, which few of us are trained in. Programs haven't caught up yet. My counselor actually works in my PCPs office - she is an integrative health care clinician. She actually works and coordinates with my bariatrician, my bariatric surgeon, and my PCP. Once every so many months they talk about my case. It has made my care tremendously better, let me tell you. This is what I want to be when I'm a grown up therapist, so I am biased. ;)

It's frustrating for me on both sides, because there is no specialized training or assessment for us as patients (or therapists), and so all of us sort of piecemeal together stuff depending on what bariatric programs we work with.

That aside, it depends what you need from the therapist. If the mood swings are due to hormones, it's hormones that will fix them. As Gwen said, not every therapist will jive with you. I am absolutely not the best counselor for everyone, never mind every WLS patient. I fit the needs of some and not others. That's just how it is. It may take a few attempts to find who works for you.