I am considering weight loss surgery but do not know what which one

Mirandia
on 5/3/17 6:57 pm
VSG on 03/14/17

My opinion only - I am not a medical professional

1. The lap band is a saline filled ring that is placed around the stomach and causes a restriction. Unfortunately it has a high failure rate, involves foreign objects to be placed inside your body and needs to be adjusted over time (more procedures) I do not recommend this at all, the process is unpleasant and gives fewer good results. Cost - about 15 thousand
  2. Vertical sleeve. This procedure removes the majority of the outer curve of the stomach. The entrance and the exit of the stomach is untouched and it functions as a normal stomach .. only smaller. It cannot be reversed although the stomach can be stretched over time to allow more food. Not only can you not eat as much .. but you are not as hungry due to reduced hunger hormones that were produced in your old stomach, so you don WANT to eat as much. You still have the mental desire to eat if you are addicted to food, it won't fix that. (This is the surgery that I had in March of this year, I have lost 25 pounds so far. No regrets) Cost - about 15 thousand
  3. Gastric bypass (RNY) creates a pouch in the top of the stomach and the intestines are re-routed to the pouch .. so the majority of the stomach is "bypassed" This procedure can be reversed. This surgery results in a restriction of food like the lap band (without the foreign objects in your body) and because part of the intestines are bypassed food is not absorbed as easily. Because the exit of the stomach is bypassed food travels directly into the intestines and to much of certain foods (sugar included) will cause "dumping" ... basically it will make you very sick. You will be miserable and you will learn not to eat that food. Cost - about 23 thousand