Undecided

JennaBabes
on 4/15/17 3:39 pm

Hi All,

I've been considering VSG surgery for a few months before I decided to consult with a surgeon. When my consultation appointment finally came, it was a wash - I sat there like a mute. I didn't have any questions prepared - I just listened. I think I was in shock that I was sitting in that seat. I learned that my insurance requires that I go for weigh-ins for at least 6 months prior to surgery approval so I've been going. At times though, I think I'm ready to go for it and other times I think I'm crazy. Did anyone else go through this? If so, any words of advice?

I'm 42 years old and always been overweight - anywhere from 50 to 120 lbs throughout my life (currently 120lbs overweight). When I put my mind to it, I've been able to lose weight; the most I've lost was about 60 lbs -- it took 3 years with massive meal planning and exercise. Problem is I can't keep it off. I've lost and gained 40, 50 and 60 lbs three different times in my life. The fact that I've been able to take the weight off on my own confuses me about making the decision of whether to get the surgery or not. I feel like if I can take it off (not once, not twice, but three times --each time about 5 years apart from one another) then why must I go for this surgery? Then I remember how I keep putting it back on and that scares me too... I don't want to go for this surgery then gain weight again. Any one else out there with a similar story? Were you afraid too? How do you feel now?

I've consulted with 1 surgeon so far and have appointments with 2 others. My other question is how do you decide which surgeon to pick?

Yes, I'm extremely indecisive and I'm not sure if it's because I'm so scared or what the reason is...

I'm open to hearing what anyone has to say about my thoughts above. I'm sure something will help put my mind at ease.

CC C.
on 4/15/17 5:43 pm