Abdominal Binder

NurseNichi
on 3/11/17 6:15 pm - Vancouver, WA
VSG on 03/07/17

Ok as a nurse I've used these multiple times for my c-section patients so when I just had my sleeve procedure this past Tuesday I asked the staff for one. They seemed surprised to get that request, but I do think once the swelling went down that it helped considerably. They first tried 2 of them, but that was too loose and one was too tight at first, but by the 3rd day I was able to use it comfortably to move around. I was using it today and felt like it was trapping gas so I took it off. Using a pillow or just your hand is just as effective to splint the abdomen while walking around, but like someone else mentioned, laying on your side is nice with the binder. I'd check with your hospital to see if they offer this before purchasing one. Good Luck!

Nichi

"I can do hard things!" ~me, I said this

Liz WantsHealthForAll
on 3/12/17 4:04 am - Cape Cod, MA
VSG on 03/28/16

I did not have one after WLS but did after TT. It was necessary after TT, but I hated it (no need for it with WLS). I needed a pillow either way for coughing anyway.

Liz 5'3" HW: 219 SW: 185 GW: 125 LW: 113 Desired maintenance range: 120-125 CW: 121

Rachel B.
on 3/12/17 6:31 pm - Tucson, AZ
VSG on 08/11/08 with

Wow! I didn't have one after my TT. Of course I had drains. Walked around with my own little red Testes for two weeks...

"...This one a long time have I watched. All his life has he looked away, to the future, to the horizon. Never his mind on where he was. What he was doing..."

Rachel, PMHNP-BC

HW-271 SW-260 LW(2009)-144 ~ Retread: HW-241 CW-190 GW-150

Donna L.
on 3/12/17 7:04 am, edited 3/11/17 11:05 pm - Chicago, IL
Revision on 02/19/18