Newbie...sort of.

nimiety
on 3/7/17 7:23 am - Brooklyn, NY

Hi there!

I'm new around here, ish. I seem to have made an account ten years ago, when I was considering surgery, but...clearly it took me a little while to bite the bullet. I'm now seven months out from VSG, and down a bit more than 105 pounds from a surgery weight of 332, hoping to lose another 35-45 pounds before hitting the year-out mark. I'm a teacher and writer and I've been drawn to this forum because it feels like it feels like it has a bit more of a self-reflective vibe than some, and that's sort of my jam. Lately I've been feeling myself needing to think through some new-normal food and behavioral stuff as things start to settle a little, and also having some tough and tumultuous feelings as I find myself in a size range I haven't occupied since I was a teenager. So it seemed like an okay day to introduce (or reintroduce?) myself.

So...hi! Looking forward to getting to know folks here.

Not Being Good: The Examined Life Post-WLS

VSG 7/29/16 // surgery weight 332 // current weight 179 // goal weight 160

Grim_Traveller
on 3/7/17 7:49 am
RNY on 08/21/12

Welcome. This is a great place. And being part of a community is a major key in long term success.

6'3" tall, male.

Highest weight was 475. RNY on 08/21/12. Current weight: 198.

M1 -24; M2 -21; M3 -19; M4 -21; M5 -13; M6 -21; M7 -10; M8 -16; M9 -10; M10 -8; M11 -6; M12 -5.

sgg1002
on 3/7/17 8:12 am
VSG on 11/29/16

Welcome, nimiety! I am a little over 3 months out and so look forward to checking out the OH boards every work day at break. It really does help to have a support group and since my surgeon's office holds their groups only once a month and 40 miles away, I find the online group a more constant and enjoyable way to keep up with everyone.

Readyjwc
on 3/7/17 2:23 pm
VSG on 01/05/17

Hi there - welcome! Glad to have you on the loser's bench!

-Jan