How to get over missing part of your stomach!

happyteacher
on 1/21/17 8:13 am

I agree with almost all of what the above post said from VSGAnn. The part where she wrote that "about half of those who have WLS regain at least half of their lost weight" is inaccurate. First, I would gently suggest to look at the stats for VSG given that is what you are considering and not lump all WLS together. Why? The DS has better stats and longterm results, but with greater trade offs. The lapband has awful stats. Given you are looking at VSG just look at your VSG stats and compare those stats to the stats of the other surgeries.

The VSG stats indicate that the average person will regain 5% of what they lost. So, if you lose 100 pounds then your regain would be 5. Of course, that is the "average" person meaning that some will lose and stay well below their goal EWL or regain more. Personally, I have been hovering 15 pounds below my goal weight for a few years now, so I would balance out the person who hovers around a 20 pound regain to get that "average" person.

Do some of us experience regain? Absolutely. Do we all? Absolutely not. Do we all regain even 20%? Nope. And the one thing that becomes very clear is that the regainers show patterns early out from surgery that is predictive of the later regain. For example, denial, continuing to regularly eat junk food/sugary food, not tracking, drinking alcohol, etc. Those of us that get to goal and stay there also show predictive patterns although this is not to say we are "perfect" and never vary from plan. Our predictive patterns tend to be weighing and tracking, monitoring nutrients ( getting in protein, not overdoing carbs/avoiding simple carbs, avoid junk food/fast food/sugar, log daily, etc.) and we are very consistent with this. (My personal goal is to be consistent at least 90% of the time.)

Surgeon: Chengelis  Surgery on 12/19/2011  A little less carb eating compared to my weight loss phase loose sleever here!