How to get over missing part of your stomach!

CC C.
on 1/18/17 8:14 pm

I think of it this way, the stomach I have now (I'm waiting on my insurance approval) holds far, far more than I would ever need under any cir****tances. I know this because I've been stuffing it full and testing its limits for over 40 years.  That excess capacity, while it may be "fun" or comforting in the moment to fill, contributes to my being over 100 pounds overweight.  So I'm reducing it to a size compatible with the person I want to be.

Anita
on 1/18/17 8:38 pm

I don't miss that part of my stomach at all! Do I feel different than I did before.....you bet I do....and it feels wonderful! I had this surgery at just shy of 71 years of age and I wish I had done it sooner. I'm almost never hungry and with this surgery, I KNOW when to stop eating...before I could just pack it in and even if I was full,  I could always manage a few extra bites....because heaven forbid I should have left anything extra on the plate (a little sarcasm there- sorry)..... Now I know my limits and I actually enjoy my food more because I needed to slow down my eating, chew my food better and most of all....make better food choices.

I'm down 59 pounds in 7 months - I lose slowly for a few reasons....I'm now 71 years young and I haven't been able to exercise because of a torn meniscus in my left knee. I just joined a gym that has a pool and now that I'm a more comfortable size, I'm going to buy one of those dreaded pieces of clothing that one wears when swimming.....if you know what I mean!