Ability to critical think, problem solve, and concentrate

Donna L.
on 12/21/16 6:46 am - Chicago, IL
Revision on 02/19/18

I went back to my job one week later, as well as started the clinical internship for my MA.  I work in suicide and risk assessment, and my clinical internship involved populations with higher acuity than the average one.  I did have horrible mood swings from increased estrogen (from the weight loss) which were inconvenient, however we addressed them immediately and I was fine.

14 days is definitely doable.  A bigger concern is, at least at the college where I worked as a grad assistant, there was food annoyingly everywhere. I think, strange as it sounds, more time off helps for more behavior acclimation.  I am weird however because the day of my surgery I also unintentionally was watching Food Network, so clearly I have personal food issues!  Having said that, I also have an eating disorder which is a further confound.  It is still funny in retrospect.  

I follow a ketogenic diet post-op. I also have a diagnosis of binge eating disorder. Feel free to ask me about either!

It is not that we have so little time but that we lose so much...the life we receive is not short but we make it so; we are not ill provided but use what we have wastefully. -- Seneca, On the Shortness of Life

Sparklekitty, Science-Loving Derby Hag
on 12/21/16 6:51 am
RNY on 08/05/19

I'm a computer geek, and I found that the exhaustion killed me more than anything specifically surgery-related. I could make it through the workday, but I had to take a nap every day after I got home from work for the first few months post-op.

Serious pain meds will give you the brain fuzzies, but most people seem to be off those before the end of two weeks.

Sparklekitty / Julie / Nerdy Little Secret (#42)
Roller derby - cycling - triathlon
VSG 2013, RNY conversion 2019 due to GERD. Trendweight here!

H.A.L.A B.
on 12/21/16 1:08 pm