Newbie Here! Just Saying Hello!

Shawney1
on 11/11/16 11:24 am

Hi there!

I'm new to the site and wanted to pop in and say hello to everyone! I'm currently on track to having the vsg surgery, but I have yet to get a surgery date. I'm starting to get a little discouraged, but I know things are moving along. Just getting a little anxious.....So, I was wondering if anyone can tell me about how long it generally takes to get a surgery date from start to finish.....I've came a long way thus far and would hate to give up now.....Thanks for listening to me vent. 

AK_Gipson
on 11/11/16 11:38 am
VSG on 04/14/14

I had to do a 6 month medically supervised diet. Plus all the other hoops that insurance made me jump though. Once I finished the diet, and faxed in all the forms from various doctors to my surgeon. It took about a month to get a date. But that was also not quite right, because they submitted for the RNY and had to resubmit for the VSG.

HW:292 / SW:258 / CW 173.9

Fel
on 11/11/16 12:01 pm

Hi, there I'm new to this to. I had to wait for 7 month insurances had me dong a lot , before it got approved. And then it didn't take long to get a surgery date after that. But be patient and just read about the Phase 1 is liquids for 2weeks, my suggestion is to right down what your going to go buy before surgery and you will be set. That give you at least some motivation.  Good look on your journey on being healthier

JazzyNava
on 11/11/16 12:01 pm
VSG on 11/21/16

Hi, for me the process took 9 months. This is counting an internal mistake my primary doctor did by sending me thru the wrong doctor for 6 months. Hang in there one thing that I would recommend confirm that you have the right doctor and that he is covered thru your insurance. Then follow up once or twice a week to keep the people working on your future surgery process on their toes.

Shawney1
on 11/11/16 1:47 pm

Thank you! Will do!

Joshua H.
on 11/11/16 12:06 pm
VSG on 10/26/16